Some of the Best Baseball Nicknames, Past and Present

I wanted to start off my first post as very light, with basically a list of great nicknames of baseball players.

Pretty much anyone involved in baseball knows that nicknames play a huge rule in identifying players and their abilities. Through the years I played with guys with nicknames like Dirty, Stew, Wizard, Bee, and Shorty. Needless to say, virtually every baseball player has a nickname, or some sort of change in their name that they are identified by. My last name is Bland, so the obvious choice is to call me Blandy. adding a -y or -er to any last name is a very easy and unoriginal way of giving a nickname to a teammate or opponent.

I have found that there are less original nicknames in the game now than ever. A-Rod, I-Rod, K-Rod, J-Roll, V-Dub just to name a few. I think of some of my all-time favourites and Mad Hungarian, The Big Train, Yankee Clipper, Iron Horse, Chairman of the Board Charlie Hustle, Splinter, and Bambino come to mind. That’s not to say that there aren’t great nicknames now, but it seems that so many nicknames are just some derivation of their given names.

I found a few really interesting ones from present players that I previously didn’t know. Ryan “The Hebrew Hammer” Braun is one that I instantly liked. Another is for Jim Thome: The Nordic Frankenstein. Of course there is Doc, and The Freak, and the Kung Fu Panda. I would love to hear anyone else’s favourites!

About blandy12

Baseball has been my love since I was three years old. Now I finally have the courage to write about this passion. Share your comments please.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some of the Best Baseball Nicknames, Past and Present

  1. Ken Pagan says:

    Lance “You Sunk My” Blankenship . . . Bert “Be Home” Blyleven . . . Ivan “Shoe Salesman” Calderon . . . Steve “Bye Bye” Balboni . . . but best baseball name ever, no nickname apparently, because it was on his baseball card every year in the late 70s . . . . Champ Summers

Leave a Reply

